VISION & MISSION

The ocean has a problem. Us.

We want to take active action against marine pollution. In Indonesia and in the mind of each individual, because: The western world also has a large share in the pollution of our oceans! Every product helps to finance research, education and cleanups in Indonesia, and we have a lot of plans in this area as well.

Every year, 8 million tons of garbage end up in the sea. Recycling alone is not enough to stop this unbelievable mass of waste from increasing even further. In our opinion, the only solution is to avoid plastic.

Giphy Mantahari

MMF is conducting on-site research to determine the extent of plastic and microplastic pollution already present in the feeding grounds of manta rays and is taking a close look at the current situation in the laboratory. Isn’t it frightening what manta rays or whale sharks inevitably have to ingest in plastic particles per hour?

By the way, on our blog we regularly show insights into what is happening in Indonesia and give tips on how easy it is to do without plastic in everyday life.

From knowing comes caring
from caring comes change

Our impact in indonesia

Especially during the time of the pandemic, the research site on the small island of Nusa Lembongan (Bali, Indonesia) was in a real fix. All companies in the tourism industry, which normally cross-finance NGOs, have since been struggling for sheer survival themselves. It’s crazy that our small community project from Munich has been able to cover virtually all the costs over the last two years, thus guaranteeing the continuation of operations. We are extremely proud that all of Mantahari’s customers are so supportive and continue to stand behind the vision and mission.

We are in constant exchange with the team on site:

Elitza Germanov Mantahari

Dr. Elitza Germanov

Ellie is a Senior Scientist and our primary contact in Indonesia. The Canadian wrote her doctoral thesis on microplastics in connection with filter feeders and is an absolute expert in this field. We are super happy that with Ellie we had the right person on our side from the beginning.

Janis Argeswara Mantahari

Janis Argeswara

The story with Janis and us is special. We have only been able to make it possible that the young talented scientist can now work full time for MMF after her internship. From Indonesia, for Indonesia. Now Project Leader of MMF in Indonesia and we all have a small share!

We are proud not only to be responsible for Jani’s permanent employment and numerous internships for young Indonesians, but also to have contributed to three scientific papers so far through the donations generated. Each and every individual who supports Mantahari in any way, whether that is by making a purchase or following and talking about the project on social media and face to face, has a part in this. From the bottom of the ocean: Tnanks.

Here you can view the scientific papers:

The Mantas of
Nusa Penida

If you've ever wanted to know what's so special about the Nusa Penida sanctuary and its local manta rays, you should read in here!

"Whats in the Soup"? Microplastic!

Jani's first own study! A visual mapping and polymer analysis of microplastics at typical ray "feeding sites".

Microplastic in Feeding Grounds

A large-scale study of a wide variety of sites in relation to microplastics in highly frequented areas for filter feeders such as manta rays and whale sharks.

Already over 130 adopted manta rays
by and with mantahari

We adopt manta rays!

With other organizations you get a standard mail and maybe a card – we get from the MMF as a nice and heartfelt symbolic return for our all support a godfathership with manta rays – how cool is that?

This means that for 200 USD donation we get to adopt a manta ray, name it and get the certificate sent. Due to the over 1000 manta rays in the database in Komodo National Park and off Nusa Penida, there is still a lot to adopt!

Adopt a Manta Mantahari

We were so proud of our first two rays – now there are over 130 rays! Examples of what these adoptioenne can look like can be found here. Isn’t it great that throughManta Matcher’svisual database each individual can be matched by the unique “Belly Print” and we always get an email when one of our manta rays has been spotted?

This is how beautiful the MMF certificates look – you want to become a sponsor yourself? Beyond the donation portions of product sales, with which we regularly adopt ourselves, we also offer private sponsorships. This has already been used as a “guardian angel” for birth, as a Christmas gift or simply for themselves. Name rights and certificate is then with you!

Was ist gegen die Verschmutzung der Meere zu tun?

Get involved! Get active!

Of course, not everyone can be expected to become an ocean activist. Therefore, we offer you to help on a small scale. By buying one of our products you will become an ambassador of the Mantahari brand and maybe you will have got a bit involved with the core idea of the project. 50% of the profit for example 10 Euro for one of the PET caps -will be donated to our partner, the Marine Megafauna Foundation (MMF)to support them. What part of the total amount is donated in each case is explained with the respective product in the store, the donation share is in any case so high that the costs of the project are covered – nothing more.

We have already been able to make a difference locally, through the many products with which thousands of Mantahari Brand Ambassadors are now on the road, we have already been able to donate almost 30,000 USD to Indonesia and support our colleagues Ellie and Janis there to continue to take on interns and to give everything for research and education on site.

World Ocean Review

A recommended further reading is the now 6 editions of the Worls Ocean Review. We read here constantly and thus dive deeper into the topic. You can download the volumes for free - absolute recommendation!!

The plastic atlas

The other source that is in virtually permanent use is the Böll Foundation's Plastic Atlas. Also open source and full of scary but very important information, super worked up statistics and more.

Subscribe to newsletter

I would like to be the first to receive news about the new caps and receive irregular exclusive, personal insights via the Mantahari Newsletter (by Mailchimp). You can unsubscribe from the newsletter at any time, more about this and the use of data in our data protection declaration.

VISION & MISSION

Der Ozean hat ein Problem. Uns.

Wir möchten aktiv gegen die Meeresverschmutzung tätig werden. Vor Ort und im Kopf von jedem einzelnen, denn: Auch die westliche Welt hat einen großen Anteil an der Verschmutzung unserer Weltmeere! Jedes Produkt hilft durch den Spendenanteil in Indonesien mit anzupacken, Forschung, Bildung und Cleanups zu finanzieren und auch hier haben wir einiges vor.

Jedes Jahr landen 8 Millionen Tonnen Müll im Meer. Recycling allein reicht nicht aus, damit diese unglaubliche Masse von Müll nicht noch weiter ansteigt. Die einzige Lösung lautet unserer Meinung nach: Plastikvermeidung.

Giphy Mantahari

Die MMF forscht vor Ort, wie groß die Plastik und Mikroplastik Belastung schon in den Feeding Grounds der Manta Rochen ist und nimmt die aktuelle Lage genau unter die Lupe im Labor. Ist es nicht erschreckend, was Manta Rochen oder Walhaie pro Stunde so an Plastikpartikeln zwangsläufig aufnehmen müssen?

Auf unserem Blog zeigen wir übrigens regelmäßig Insights, was in Indonesien passiert und geben Tipps, wie leicht man im Alltag auf Plastik verzichten kann.

From knowing comes caring
from caring comes change

Unser Impact in indonesien

Gerade in der Zeit der Pandemie war der Forschungsstandort auf der kleinen Insel Nusa Lembongan (Bali, Indonesien) ganz schön aufgeschmissen. Alle Unternehmen der Tourismus Branche, die NGOs normalerweise querfinanzieren, kämpfen seitdem selbst um das blanke Überleben. Schon verrückt, dass unser kleines Community Projekt aus München in den letzten zwei Jahren praktisch alle Kosten stemmen konnte und so die Aufrechterhaltung des Betriebs garantieren konnte. Wir sind extrem stolz, dass alle Kund:innen von Mantahari so tatkräftig unterstützen und weiterhin hinter der Vision und der Mission stehen.

Wir sind im ständigen Austausch mit dem Team vor Ort:

Elitza Germanov Mantahari

Dr. Elitza Germanov

Ellie ist Senior Scientist und unsere primäre Ansprechpartnerin vor Ort. Die Kanadierin hat ihre Doktorarbeit über Microplastik im Zusammenhang mit Filter Feedern geschrieben und ist eine absolute Expertin in diesem Gebiet. Wir sind super froh, dass wir mit Ellie von Anfang an die richtige Person an der Seite hatten.

Janis Argeswara Mantahari

Janis Argeswara

Die Geschichte mit Janis und uns ist besonders. Wir haben es erst möglich machen können, dass die junge talentierte Wissenschaftlerin nach ihrem Praktikum nun voll für die MMF arbeiten kann. Aus Indonesien, für Indonesien. Jetzt Project Leader der MMF in Indonesien und wir alle haben einen kleinen Anteil!

Wir sind stolz nicht nur für Janis Festanstellung und zahlreiche Praktika für junge Indonesierinnen und Indonesier mitverantwortlich zu sein, sondern auch durch die generierten Spendengelder an bisher drei wissenschaftlichen Papern einen Teil beigetragen zu haben. Jede und jeder einzelne, der Mantahari in irgendeiner Weise, sei das durch einen Einkauf oder das Verfolgen und Thematisieren des Projekts auf Social Media und Face to Face unterstützt, hat hieran einen Anteil. From the bottom of the ocean: Danke.

Hier könnt ihr die wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten einsehen:

The Mantas of
Nusa Penida

Wer schon immer mal wissen wollte, was das Besondere an dem Nusa Penida Schutzgebiet und seinen lokalen Manta Rochen ist, sollte hier reinlesen!

"Whats in the Soup"? Microplastic!

Janis erste eigene Studie! Eine visuelle Zuordnung und Polymer Analyse des Mikroplastiks an den typischen "Fressplätzen" der Rochen.

Microplastic in Feeding Grounds

Eine groß angelegte Studie verschiedenster Orte im Bezug auf Mikroplastik in hoch frequentierten Gebieten für Filter Feeder wie Mantas oder Walhaie.

Bereits über 130 adoptierte Manta Rochen
von und mit mantahari

Wir adoptieren Manta rochen!

Bei anderen Organisationen bekommt man eine Standard Mail und vielleicht eine Karte – wir bekommen von der MMF als nette und herzliche symbolische Gegenleistung für unser aller Support Patenschafen mit Mantarochen – wie cool ist das denn?

Das bedeutet, dass wir für 200 USD Spende einen Mantarochen adoptieren dürfen, ihn benennen und das Zertifikat gesendet bekommen. Aufgrund der über 1000 Mantarochen, die in der Datenbank im Komodo Nationalpark und vor Nusa Penida sind, gibt es noch viel zu adoptieren!

Adopt a Manta Mantahari

Wir waren so stolz auf unsere ersten beiden Rochen – mittlerweile sind es über 130 Rochen! Beispiele, wie diese Adoptioenne aussehen können, findet ihr hier. Ist es nicht großartig, dass durch die optische Datenbank von Manta Matcher jedes Individuum durch den einzigartigen “Belly Print” zugeordnet werden kann und wir immer eine Mail bekommen, wenn einer unsrer Mantas gesichtet wurde?

Hier ein Überblick über alle Mantas, die zum Stand November 2021 adoptiert wurden und wo diese gesichtet wurden:

Mantahari Manta Adoptionen

So schön sehen die Zertifikate der MMF aus – du willst selbst Pate werden? Über die Spendenanteile der Produktverkäufe hinaus, mit welchen wir regelmäßig selbst adoptieren, bieten wir auch private Patenschaften an. Das ist schon als “Schutzengel” zur Geburt, als Weihnachtsgeschenk oder einfach für sich selbst genutzt worden. Namensrechte und Zertifikat liegt dann bei dir!

Was tun gegen die Verschmutzung der Meere?

Get involved! Get active!

Natürlich kann man nicht von allen erwarten, ein Ozean Aktivist zu werden. Daher bieten wir dir an, im kleinen Maßstab mitzuhelfen. Indem du eines unserer Produkte kaufst wirst du Botschafter der Marke Mantahari und hast dich vielleicht auch ein bisschen mit dem Kerngedanken des Projekts beschäftigt. 50% des Gewinns – bei einer der PET Caps sind es beispielsweise 10 Euro – werden an unseren Partner, die Marine Megafauna Foundation (MMF), gespendet. Welcher Teil der Gesamtsumme jeweils gespendet wird, ist bei dem jeweiligen Produkt im Shop erklärt, der Spendenanteil ist jedenfalls so hoch, dass die Kosten des Projekts gedeckt sind – mehr nicht.

Vor Ort haben wir schon einiges bewegen können, durch die vielen Produkte, mit welchen jetzt schon tausende Mantahari Brand-Ambassadors unterwegs sind, konnten wir schon knapp 30.000 USD nach Indonesien spenden und dort unsere Kolleginnen Ellie und Janis supporten weiterhin Praktikant:innen aufzunehmen und alles für Forschung und Bildung vor Ort zu geben..

World Ocean Review

Eine empfehlenswerte weiterführende Literatur sind die mittlerweile 6 Ausgaben des Worls Ocean Reviews. Wir lesen hier ständig nach und tauchen so tiefer in die Marterie. Die Bände kann man sich kostenlos runterladen - absolute Empfehlung!

Der Plastik Atlas

Die andere Quelle, die praktisch dauerhaft im Einsatz ist, ist der Plastik Atlas der Böll Stiftung. Auch Open Source und voller erschreckender aber sehr wichtiger Informationen, super aufgearbeiteten Statistiken und mehr.

Zum Newsletter Anmelden

Ich möchte als erstes News zu den neuen Caps erhalten und unregelmäßig exklusive, persönliche Einblicke mittels des Mantahari Newsletters (by Mailchimp) erhalten.
Abbestellen des Newsletters ist jederzeit möglich, mehr dazu und zur Datennutzung in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.